Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Technician Certification
Share |





The "Online" Two and Four Stroke Engine exam may now be taken without a proctor,  just enter "NonProctored" in the Proctor name field of the registration form.


EETC Technician Certification Program

Ensuring customer satisfaction and service support in today's marketplace is no easy task. In order to raise the level of qualified technicians in the power equipment industry, the EETC developed and maintains the EETC Technician Certification Program.Certified technicians demonstrate a higher level of technical proficiency in their work and this, in turn, increases the level of professionalism at dealerships.

EETC certification tests are based on industry standards and are written and updated by a committee of manufacturers, distributors, dealers, schools, and associations, each of whom has expertise in their subject area. Tests are updated annually to ensure that the latest technologies are included. Over twenty-thousand technicians & students have taken the industry sanctioned EETC certification test since inception.


EETC Certification Tests

EETC certification tests are 150 multiple-choice questions measuring your knowledge in various content areas.


 (Click on Chevrons below for more info) 




Test Development:

The test questions focus on practical problems encountered in day-to-day work situations, and are written and approved by committees of carefully selected experts. Each of these committees represents a cross-section of relevant industry representatives, including working technicians, educators, manufacturers, distributors, and dealers. This procedure ensures that the tests are fair for all without bias toward any specific equipment type, make, or manufacturer.



When you earn EETC certification, passing with a 70% or higher, you will receive a certificate, certification patch and chevron for your work uniform. Technicians that have passed a certification test(s) can order patches and chevrons at the Online Store/Patches.


Test Fees:

$49 per test

$39 Full Time Students

If an individual does not pass a certification test they may retake the exam after 2 weeks.




Retest Fees:

Online Testing: $10
Paper Testing: $20



To remain certified in any of the EETC certification areas, you must either take and pass the  60 question recertification test and pass with a 70% or higher every five years or provide (CEU's) continuing education units. For more information about recertification click here:




 Taking Your Career to the Next Level


Certified Engine Technician Certification Program



An EETC Certified Engine Technician is has passed the following

EETC Certification Test:



Once a technician has passed all three engine test they will be issued the Certified Engine Technician Patch along with a Certified Engine Technician Certificate. 



Certified Systems Technician Certification Program




An EETC Certified Systems Technician has passed the following

EETC Certification Test



Once a technician has passed all systems engine test they will be issued the Certified Systems Technician Patch along with a Certified Systems Technician Certificate.



Master Technician Certification Program




Equipment & Engine Training Council is proud of the technicians who have become certified. They show a commitment to improving their skills and ability and a strong need to provide customers with the best service possible. There are, however, technicians that stand out from the others. These are the technicians who have taken and passed six of the eight certification test. The EETC would like to recognize these individuals who have gone above and beyond and stand as leaders in the industry. Therefore, we are excited to announce the EETC Master Technician Certification Program. All technicians who have achieved this status will receive the following:

  • Master Technician Patch
  • Press release to the trade publications
  • Letter of recognition to dealership
  • Master Technician Certificate


In order for a technician to qualify for the Master Technician Program, he or she must have successfully passed six of the eight following EETC Certification Test:




The EETC wishes to congratulate all the technicians who have worked diligently to pass these stringent certification test. If you have any question about the Master Technician Program, please feel free to contact the EETC.




Sign In

Latest News

12/1/2019 » 12/1/2020
Certification Exam